Top

Review: The True Power Of Water By Masaru Emoto

August 25, 2008 by  


(Photo by circulating)

This is the review of Japanese paperback version of The True Power Of Water by Masaru Emoto.

According to the preface, he edited part of the book from its original Japanese publication, so please take that in account. When I mentioned his work in my post, I found many people were interested in it, so I decided to study more, and I’m utilizing my bilingual skill here.

Pseudo-science by a con man with degree-mill “Dr”?

To be fair, Dr. Emoto‘s theory that water can understand verbal messages and change according to the message, and that water that is retoned with positive message has healing power, is not necessarily accepted in the current science. Masaru Emoto admits many attempts by others to replicate the result have failed. He takes photographs of the water crystals by freezing the retoned water, as seen in the movie What the Bleep Do We Know!?, but this is not considered to be sufficient evidence by some.

Further, Masaru Emoto is not a scientist by training. He was a businessman who was involved in the import of alternative healthcare devices. Through many turns, he met with a scientist who was studying water and was introduced to a device that measures the vibrational resonance of the body. With a few more ups and downs, he started experimenting for a way to show the difference of water – which lead to his photos of water crystals.

While his staff includes scientists with appropriate educational background, and some doctors and college professors support his theory, Masaru Emoto is not a scientist. His doctoral degree comes from an unaccredited institution. And he is still a businessman to some extent – he is good at marketing, like making the word “hado”, a Japanese word for vibration, into an English acronym: Healing And Discovering Ourselves. He sells lots of things on his websites, one is here, another, and Japanese website. (I’m including these links because you can see some of those beautiful photos there.)

So, if you want to reject anything that is unorthodox or commercialized, this is not for you. Also, if you judge theory by the person who advocates it, well, he seems to be a kind person to me, but I do wish he didn’t get that degree just for the marketing purpose, so feel free to criticize him.

Or is he going beyond the limitation of current science?

As for me, I don’t really care about his degree. If something works, then it works, even if the person who teaches it is a jerk. The theory and the person are two separate entities. (I’m not saying Mr. Masaru Emoto is a jerk – on the contrary, I’m impressed with his repeated loving mention of his wife and his commitment to is work)

He maintains that he could do this innovative work because he was not conditioned with authoritative science education. I see his point. Current science is far from perfection. True scientists know there are so much more to explore, so much we don’t know yet. The educators, however, are authoritative and only accept what is proven. In any fields, education is behind the front line by several decades.

I don’t think we even have a complete frame of reference to understand the vastness and multi-dimensional nature of the Universe. So there are many phenomena that can’t be fully explained by the current science, and many people dismiss them as “unscientific” — which is the most unscientific approach because science is there to explain things, rather than ignoring what can’t be explained and thus limiting our understanding.

How to make your own healing water

Okay, enough discussion about the validity of his work. Here is his quick and easy way to bring out the potential healing power of the water you drink:

  1. Needless to say, start with good water. But this can be tricky. Not all spring waters are created equal. Distilled water is another good option. Or you can use tap water.
  2. Put the water in a clear container.
  3. Type or write the words you like on a piece of paper, and stick it to the bottle of water facing the water (so that the water can read it.) You can use affirmation like “I have recovered from XXXX (your ailment)” or words such as “Love and Gratitude”.
  4. Occasionally shake the bottle of water. He insists this is a critical step.
  5. Say gratitude or affirmation aloud to the water when you drink it. Of course, you can talk to the water anytime you notice. Or you can pray to it.

Masaru Emoto thinks the water that read “Love and Gratitude” makes the most beautiful crystal, physically showing its power. He says “Love is the giving of energy and Gratitude is the receiving of energy. The two makes the complete exchange of energy in the Universe.”

More about the miracle of water . . .

I just couldn’t put down the book. It’s fascinating. I find it so interesting that water is multi-lingual. He showed “Thank you” in several languages to the water, and although each forms different crystals, they are all beautiful. I guess the water picks up the energy of the word, the intention behind the expression. (So if English is your second language and you feel more comfortable with your first language, go use it to make the healing water.)

Water also responds to beautiful music and pictures. It especially likes classic music played by full orchestra. Masaru Emoto thinks this is because each instrument has different resonance and their harmony reinforces each other. If you are a musician, why don’t you sing to your water to personalize it?

He says the cleansing and energizing of the water by positive messages is different from clearing the water physically by filter. It’s done at different level.

The Law of Attraction and the power of water

The Law of Attraction states that everything, including our thoughts, has vibration, and a vibration attracts its vibrational match. And because we, as humans, can think, we can change our vibration by changing our thoughts, which results in attracting different people, things and events.

Masaru Emoto shows that water changes according to the message we give it. When we say affirmation to the water, the water change and acquire the nature that enables the actualization of the affirmation. I think this is a great way to utilize the Law of Attraction.

I wonder . . . is it just the water that changes according to the message? Isn’t it more reasonable to think that everything changes according to the message – it’s just the change of water is easy to observe due to its simple molecular structure?

What do you think? Let me know by leaving your comment!

Do you find this blog inspiring?

Please check About page to learn more about this blog and the author, Akemi Gaines.

Comments

24 Responses to “Review: The True Power Of Water By Masaru Emoto”

  1. James Chartrand - Men with Pens on August 25th, 2008 10:12 am

    I think that’s an excellent search term indeed. May I add charming as well?

    It was fun to review you, Akemi. It’s always a pleasure for us to rip u- Uh, I mean, gently critique a friend’s blog.

  2. akemi on August 25th, 2008 3:24 pm

    James,
    How about adding intelligent, energetic, and generous? Or do you take these granted already?

  3. James Chartrand - Men with Pens on August 25th, 2008 4:00 pm

    Ahh, as they say, take nothing for granted!

  4. PeaceLoveJoyBliss on August 25th, 2008 11:40 pm

    Akemi, what a wonderful gift from King James. I read his review and (as I’m sure you know) he has some great suggestions for you.

    As for Emoto-san, I would support his work. Understandably, science is conservative, and I wouldn’t want that to change, but … there’s a place in this world for the likes of Emoto-san. If water molecules are sensitive to our emotions, just think how much power we have with respect to our DNA. It boggles the mind. Be good to yourself!

    Christopher

  5. Mags | Woo-Woo Wisdom on August 26th, 2008 2:45 am

    Thanks for the review of Dr Emoto’s book, Akemi – definitely on my reading list. I had a look at the photos on the websites you linked to, and they certainly provide some food for thought regarding the tangible effect of our energy and vibration. Since your last post on water, I’ve been a lot more aware of what vibes I’m sending out while eating my food and drinking water, and thanking it when I remember to do so (I’m getting better!).

    My 2 cents on the issue of “unscientific”… I think that many people who place a great deal of importance on scientific research have never worked in a research environment:). My time in an academic institution showed me that there is often a great deal of politics behind the scenes that ultimately determines what research gets funded and published, with the result that much ground-breaking work can get thrown out early in the process, and some “bad” research can actually end up getting published. Disclaimer: This doesn’t apply to all science, scientists, academic institutions and journals, of course. There are many excellent researchers, funders and publishers out there. Unfortunately, when the layperson sees a report on a study, they have no idea of what went on behind the scenes and whether that study was truly conducted in an exemplary fashion.

    Mags | Woo-Woo Wisdoms last blog post..Flow And Intention-Manifestation

  6. akemi on August 26th, 2008 7:15 am

    Chris,
    Those men are great, aren’t they? I’m working on the improvement of this website.
    Our body contains a lot of water. The Earth is largely water. So the potential Mr Emoto’s work suggest is huge.

    Mags,
    Interesting. I can see how that happens because I know how hierarchical academic institutions are.

  7. Cath Lawson on August 26th, 2008 2:21 pm

    Hi Akemi – i think the trouble with scientific projects is that they are expensive. So most of them are funded by pharmaceutical companies. And they are not going to invest in anything that’s profitable than them. In fact, I’ve heard cases where a discovery was made that would enable folk to cure pain without the need for painkillers and the pharmaceuticals will pay to buy the patents so the inventions can’t be used.

    So, I would not reject any research carried out just because it wasn’t part of an organised scientific research project. And I’ll definitely be giving this experiment a try.

    When you say the crystals – what do you mean? Did actual crystals form when the water was in the bottle? Or was it something else?

  8. akemi on August 26th, 2008 4:12 pm

    Cath,
    Dr Emoto photographs water crystals by freezing the water droplets. Because water expands when it freezes, there will be a tiny point at the top of the droplet, and with special equipment, he can take their photos. Check out the links — they are beautiful, like snow flakes.
    Your story of pharmaceutical companies killing non-profitable discoveries is scary — and I believe that would happen.

  9. PeaceLoveJoyBliss on August 27th, 2008 4:32 pm

    Those men, plural? Ah, yes. King James and Prince Harry. Hmm, no, that’s not quite right. How about two cool dudes sailing the high seas? Yes, I think that’s more like it. Akemi, have you seen Zinruss Studio? They’ve got tons of great blog site templates that would likely make making improvements a snap. Check ‘em out! And oh, I like your comment about the huge potential we have collectively to imbue the water in our bodies (large and small) with the best of intentions.

    Christopher

  10. akemi on August 27th, 2008 9:03 pm

    Chris,
    King James was thrown away into the wild ocean because he is half French. There were some international tensions. Talk about the hardships bilinguals and biculturals have to go through . . . Not quite sure why Prince Harry followed him. Gentlemen’s agreement, I guess.

    Thank you for the tip. I will check it out.

  11. PeaceLoveJoyBliss on August 28th, 2008 1:51 am

    Oh me, oh my! Akemi, I hope they’re okay!

  12. James Chartrand - Men with Pens on August 28th, 2008 4:41 am

    I’m a really good swimmer. Safe and sound – oh, and Harry threw me a rope. All good.

  13. akemi on August 28th, 2008 7:36 am

    . . . however, the news of the missing King spread like a bad epidemic throughout the world. The clever King thought he might take advantage of this situation. He hated the formality of the royalty anyway.
    They are currently enjoying themselves on the little island in New Caledonia. Keep this news private, Chris, we don’t want to interfere their unexpected vacation time . . .

  14. PeaceLoveJoyBliss on August 28th, 2008 2:04 pm

    Shhhh … be very, very quiet … (spoken in a whisper)

  15. Barbara Swafford on August 28th, 2008 3:42 pm

    Hi Akemi,

    What a fascinating post. Who knew water had so much power. The book sounds like a “must read”. Thanks for sharing!

    Barbara Swaffords last blog post..Self Promotion – From The Archives

  16. akemi on August 28th, 2008 4:31 pm

    Barbara,
    He has published several books of the same kind, and they all come with the beautiful photos. Definitely check it out!

  17. Gratitude Friday, Week 9, Gratitude And The Miracle Of Water | Yes to Me on October 12th, 2008 9:25 pm

    [...] of Water. The book has many beautiful jewelry-like photos of water molecules.  (For more about Dr Masaru Emoto and the review of his another book, The True Power Of Water, please check this [...]

  18. Mokihana on November 9th, 2008 3:55 pm

    Aloha Akemi,
    I found this post while browsing your site. Thank you for reminding me of Emoto’s wonderful work. Of course, water would love to hear the sound of words, sounds that touch its essence. Ka Wai Ola … the water of life say Hawaiians, and we are in the end and everyday mostly water. With that delightful reminder to make my water special , I look at the glass jugs filled with water we filter with a reverse osmosis system … with joy, I am going to write messages on each of those dozen bottles. What a great and abundance making project, where is that music (Hawaiian music that is … chuckle, chuckle…)
    Mahalo, Mokihana

  19. Gratitude For Healing Water, Online Gratitude Journal #19 | Yes to Me on December 12th, 2008 8:27 am

    [...] anyone actually tried doing this or the other method of making healing water?  How was your experience?  Please let me know – I’m very [...]

  20. Andrew Gubb on April 3rd, 2009 3:08 am

    In response to your question – I think water has a particular sensitivity – it’s like a “blank slate” and ends up vibrating to whatever energy you give it. After all it’s one of the four elements that represents flowing and adapting.

    I think it’s interesting that this was discovered by a guy without formal scientific training. I think “science” despite its rational reputation is a sort of religion in that it has certain dogmas and a fixed way of viewing the world. Its philosophy says it shouldn’t, but that’s the way it turned out… The philosophy of religions are also supposed to be for finding the truth, I suppose, but they get tied up in politics and darkwork games as well.

    It’d be amusing if we could get people to start putting “scientist” as their religion :) Actually I guess “atheist” is pretty much that. It’s kind of defining your identity as “anti-relgion” which is kind of what science does…………

  21. Evita on September 9th, 2009 11:30 am

    This is awesome Akemi! I heard of his work in “What The Bleep Do We Know” and thought to myself, I have to read this book one day!!!!

    Thanks for the review, I think his work is a true masterpiece and it definitely taught me to take my thoughts and emotions even more seriously.

  22. Enriching Your Body, Mind and Spirit | Heal Pain Naturally on October 27th, 2009 3:22 am

    [...] the make up of it.  If you are NOT familiar with his work I highly recommend you check out Akemi’s review on “Yes To Me”.  The intention we give to food and water and the vibrations we contribute to it DO influence the [...]

  23. Akashic Record Guides | Akashic Record Reading on June 6th, 2010 1:26 pm

    [...] you might want to see the photos of the water crystals Masaru Emoto took in books such as “The True Power of Water”. The photos are also used in the movie “What The Bleep Do We [...]

  24. Review: The True Power Of Water By Masaru Emoto | lovegalaxy on March 30th, 2011 8:26 am

    [...] Review: The True Power Of Water By Masaru Emoto. This entry was posted in spiritual creation. Bookmark the permalink. ← Are We Gods [...]

Bottom